Today's Date

Wednesday, July 23, 2014
Editor and Publisher

Opinion Articles

Letters, July 18 ed

posted: 7/22/2014

Honoring a heroic act

Editor:

The city of Newport Beach and the local community lost a true hero Sunday, July 6, when Newport Beach Lifeguard Ben Carlson courageously entered the challenging and turbulent waters off Newport Beach to save a swimmer in distress. 


Guest Commentary: Smoke alarms are a must on vessels

posted: 7/21/2014

I want to share an interesting boating experience I had recently in Catalina. When we arrived at our moored sailboat, I found our stereo system and sump pump for the aft shower and sink were not working. 

Opinion: Back Bay Landing project should move forward

posted: 7/5/2014

After several years of hearing about the Back Bay Landing Project, it was not surprising to learn that an advocacy group was making a last minute attempt to stall the multimillion dollar project. But with so much support from stakeholders and the local Newport Beach community, it was not a shock that the attempt failed.

Letters, July 4 ed

posted: 7/4/2014

Stop wasting water

Thank you for the article explaining the importance of water rationing in the June 20 edition of The Log. It is very disappointing to know that not everyone is taking this drought seriously, and continuing to waste precious water.

Guest editorial

posted: 6/24/2014

Kudos to the Long Beach fire chief for making the sound decision to remove fire department lifeguard personnel from the marine fire suppression mission. This important step will pay dividends in the safety of the public, firefighters, and inadequately trained lifeguard members who were tasked with performing firefighting duties.

Letters to the Editor

posted: 6/15/2014

Goodbye to a master shipwright

Editor:             

I was saddened to hear of the passing of master shipwright Dennis Holland who passed away Monday, May 12 (The Log, May 23 edition). I followed the story of Dennis and Shawnee for the past few years when he and the vessel began to make headlines in local newspapers.

Guest Editorial: Virtual Aids to Navigation for Real Boats?

posted: 6/15/2014

For six months now I’ve been explaining to people that paper charts are still available, but just not coming out of the Federal printing press. See the previous The Log article (May 9-22, 2014) for the details. Most all of my customers agree that paper charts are important, and that electronics are not always reliable for navigation.

Letters, May 23 Ed.

posted: 5/29/2014

Historical facts about beloved boats

Editor:             

I am sure many yachting enthusiasts enjoyed your article about Portola including me. As far as I am concerned, there is no finer, well-maintained yacht anywhere.

Guest Column: Mother’s Day rescue

Monique Vigeant  |  posted: 5/29/2014

I’d like to think that my Mom was with me on Mother’s Day this year.  Mariette passed away a short time ago, and I think of her every time I sail on the Dawn Treader III, a 34 foot O’Day sloop out of Dana Point, Calif. 

Help clean up our beaches

posted: 5/19/2014

Operation Clean Sweeps, marina and beach cleanups have been on several city calendars these past few months, as county and harbor officials stress to water users the importance of keeping beaches clean.

Letters

posted: 5/19/2014

Correction

In the April 25-May 8 edition of The Log, the “Women takes giant New Zealand bluefin” (Page 26) story can to an abrupt end. The paragraph should read: With the existing women’s 6 kg line class record at 21.69 kg (47 pounds, 13 oz.), Pedlar’s fish is plenty big enough to qualify.

Replacing parking lots with bayfront Park is a step in the right direction

posted: 5/5/2014

San Diego’s bayfront is an ideal place to watch cruise ships come in; people watch and catch boats sailing in the bay. But there are only limited places to sit and appreciate all the harbor has to offer since busy streets and traffic often obstruct those views.

Article sparks memories

posted: 4/21/2014

Editor:

While attending a birthday party at Newport Harbor Yacht Club’s club house recently, I picked up a copy of The Log and found a familiar name inside! 

Letters: Dredging: A frustrating topic

posted: 3/28/2014

Editor: I was glad to read in the March 14-27 edition of The Log that President Barack Obama allocated funding for dredging Ventura Harbor.

Fred Hall Show Promises Latest in Outdoor Gear

posted: 2/27/2014

Are you ready for the 68th annual Fred Hall Fishing Tackle and Boat Show? T

Digital Edition

 
Free Digital Guide to Pacific Coast Marinas

Navigation